PsyBlog: How the Internet changes our behaviour and personality.

I have found an interesting online organisation blog called PsyBlog.org in which professionals elaborate on psychological issues relating to many topics, including media, the internet and social networking.  My main focus was on online networking and how the mind becomes manipulated and how people become a different person when they are chatting online.

This website offers different posts written by academics on various topics, so I think it is useful to look at if you want to find out about the effects of social media and the internet on people’s behaviour. I have looked at an article which I found interesting called ‘Online disinhibition’ which is written by Dr. Jeremy Dean, a psychologist and author on PsyBlog. Online disinhibition is the idea that people feel less inhibited with social conventions when online and they abandon social restraints when interacting on online platforms. For example, in face-to-face conversations, people would be less likely to say something cruel, fearing the consequences, whereas in the online world, people abandon this inhibition. The article justifies the reasons of why this is happening and goes in depth for the effects it has on society. I think it is an interesting website to look at to find out how the Internet psychologically effects us either in a positive or negative way and we get an insight to the professional view of academics and professionals.

To look at similar articles, click here. 
http://www.spring.org.uk/2010/08/six-causes-of-online-disinhibition.php

1 Comment

  1. I applause my colleague on the choice of online resource here.

    It is astonishingly common for social media users and people on the Internet in general to ignore or simply to ‘mute’ the discussed effects. It is also surprisingly rare for a mainstream user to consciously consider the complex effects his online consumption has.

    For example, I got familiar with the term ‘online’ and everything that went with it relatively late for someone of my generation.

    As soon as I clicked on my first ‘register here’ box, I knew it would change me. But I could not have had the slightest idea to what extent. Reading this now, I recognize many practices, regularly performed by me, as mundane operations, not even worth my further consideration. What a mistake . . .

    It is because of this that (I dare say) many of my colleagues out here would agree that this is all too worryingly familiar. To a certain extent, as if we have taken part in an experiment or case study, aiming to portrait how deliberately two-faced we are.

    Are we, really?

    Although I agree with all the points being made, I would like to defend my ‘two-faced’ list of subscriptions. Truth is: the temptation is just too great. It calls out to you, it draws you in, it seduces you. A place, where you can ‘abandon social restrains’ (‘PsyBlog: How the Internet changes our behaviour and personality’) . . . Sounds like Disneyland for communication: an online space of endless possibilities.

    What this source illustrates is what we all know or perhaps try to conceal.

    Social media change and shape us in miraculous ways. Some we have witnessed, some we have just seen the product of. That product is what we should watch out for because, after all, even Disneyland has some behavioural regulations.

    So . . . behave.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

