Could on-line resources be the end of library’s

Is the internet destroying out library. Well to a point yes it is. With the internet we are able to get an abundant  at our finger tips. However before hand we would of gone to the library and research for you topic. Although this method was often a lot longer and required you to find a library. It was often more useful as you don’t get distracted by pictures of cats then compared to the internet.  As I’m writing this I’m looking up american food diners . This is a prime example to how easy you can get distracted while doing work. But why are library’s dying out. Well its mostly due to my generation and the invention of smartphones.   Because of this we’re are able to keep up to-date with everything going on around us as well as discover new and exciting stories. So how can we story more library’s disappearing. Well when it comes to doing research we should use library’s as a starting point to when we do work. Although this will be tricky we will soon adapt to it. After all us humans are used to adapting to the world around us.

Source: http://techcrunch.com/2013/10/13/the-end-of-the-library/

8 Comments

  1. I agree that technology has diverted us away from using libraries as a source, many books are now outdated and technology offers new and old information. However using libraries is still a great way of finding information, especially when taking a historical point of view or using a professional from the past and appreciating the work they put into to publish a piece of writing.

    Like

  2. I think this is an interesting viewpoint, and I agree that the internet is a great source of information and the first go-to place for research. It’s definitely the first place I think to go when I need to find out information. However, anything can be posted on the internet meaning it might not be as reliable as library resources
    unless it is from a trusted and reliable. There are pros/cons to both libraries and the internet, but I think the internet is the easiest, most efficient place to get information.

    Like

  3. I’d never really thought the rise of smartphones was causing libraries to die out, I thought it was down to the fact that our government thinks it should spend the money elsewhere.

    I do think however that doing research in a library takes longer as you’re searching for a piece of information that might be in different books and I think that’s what puts people off, they could easily find it (if they’re not distracted by cat videos) on the internet.

    Like

  4. I think you’ve made a really good point, and I do agree that very few of us are using library resources as our main go to resource. But I do think that it is so much more convenient for us to go straight to the internet as our main source to retrieve information that we need. You’ve made a really good point and I think that more of us need to start using the library more!

    Like

  5. I think this is an interesting viewpoint, and I agree that the internet is a great source of information and the first go-to place for research. It’s definitely the first place I think to go when I need to find out information. However, anything can be posted on the internet meaning it might not be as reliable as library resources unless it is from a trusted and reliable. There are pros/cons to both libraries and the internet, but I think the internet is the easiest, most efficient place to get information

    Like

  6. Even though I am a proper nostalgic of how libraries used to be, I believe that internet has widely permitted the spread of information. Before, the knowledge was pure, academic, rigorous. Words, black on white. No distractions and no cats emoticon disturbing your reading. A library was charming, warm. But it also was naturally ‘selective’. Today, the knolwedge has several layers/levels: a high percentage of the globe has limitless access to almost any kind of sources, just one click away. Anywhere, anytime. How we decide to use this form of information, however, is our choice.

    Like

  7. This is a really interesting link, because I agree that the internet is a great way to find lots of information just by searching for it, and in some ways it has taken over as the first place to go to look for information instead of the library. It’s definitely the first place I go to look to research something. As Arron says above, however, the library might be seen as a more reliable source of information because anything can be posted on the internet whether it is true or not. I think both have their uses and their pros/cons, but in my opinion I agree with you that the internet is the easiest way to research information.

    Like

  8. I think you have a great point here but i personally think that the library is still a great source of information, however in our society today we just take the new technology which is introduced to us and forget that the library is a more reliable source than the majority of sources found on the internet apart from academic sources which are online.

    Like

Leave a Reply

