Is the internet saving or destroying TV?

It’s extremely difficult to find anyone of this generation who is not a Netflix enthusiast; however I am not one. As a TV student, the thought of television moving online with no schedules, no weekly episodes and a new way of promoting and distributing content scares me because the future is unclear. The television industry is undergoing huge changes which raises many debates, for instance; will the license fee survive? Pre university, I loved sitting down in front of the TV (every night) after waiting for a programme all week. However, now being at university and not even having the luxury of a TV meant an end to this. Luckily for me, despite my pessimistic outlook, online television and on-demand services are constantly improving. It is possible to watch a programme on BBC Iplayer an hour after it was broadcast, something no one could have anticipated just 10 years ago. Channel Four’s on-demand service (All 4) contains hours and hours worth of programmes from their archives meaning there is always something to watch. I do have to admit, though, that I have watched Making a Murderer, although I am not even sure whose Netflix account information I was using at the time.

I am slowly coming round to the idea of online streaming as I can see the benefits. Audiences can choose what to watch when, including binge watching. Sharing content by word of mouth or social media leads to a buzz around certain programmes (i.e. Making a Murderer/ House of Cards) meaning audiences can feel involved in something and content providers do not have to spend much money on traditional forms of advertising. I found a video which discusses this in detail and raises some interesting debates. It also relates to the Sound, Story, Text and Image module:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRMjaLdz_YE 

What do you think about the blog post title? Do you think the convergence between TV and the Internet will continue and how could it develop?

4 Comments

  1. I completely agree, it’s a shame that traditional television is moving online, but with the change there are many advantages and new exciting opportunities.

    Before university I would watch about 40/60 Live TV to online, however at university its almost 100% online, and I do miss it.

    On Tuesday BBC 3 officially went strictly online. I understand the advantages of this, taking the channel to where the audience is and all that, but I was really heart broken by the move. It ultimately shows that the BBC doesn’t place BBC 3 as an important channel, even though it has brought them award winning and groundbreaking drama, comedy and documentaries- such as In the Flesh and Gavin and Stacey. The controllers stress that the channel will operate the same online, it wont. Their budget has been slashed in half meaning that there will be less original content, less risks will be taken and less money put into shows. Ultimately I believe the BBC’s choice was unfair as they are showing that they aren’t fully invested in BBC 3’s target audience. Consequently the audience will fall out with the co-operation and go elsewhere, such as Netflix and Channel 4, which is a shame as the BBC is world renowned for its high quality television content.

    Like

    • I see your points but I think the move could have benefits for BBC Three. Personally, it is only recently that I have started watching programmes on BBC Three and that is due to the fact that I see the programmes that I would like to watch when I’m on Iplayer. Also, BBC Three could start to compete with online services such as Netflix if audiences choose to binge watch programmes online, and as the channel targets a younger audience, this could be beneficial to the BBC.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely understand why audiences would like streaming services and therefore why they are thriving, I just wonder what you think the future of television will be and how many people only watch streaming services and do not watch television created for traditional TV channels? I find it an awful thought that the future may be the end of traditional TV.

    Like

  3. I am definitely the opposite because I am a huge Netflix enthusiast. I love watching TV shows whenever I want, wherever I want. I think it’s especially great to watch old shows that aren’t running on TV anymore. I just finished watching Gilmore Girls which ended in 2007, so it was great to experience that again. Netflix is also producing more shows FOR Netflix, such as Making a Murder and House of Cards, both of which are fabulous. I think it’s an interesting change that a streaming platform such as Netflix is now producing and curating shows. I will admit, I hate waiting a whole year for the new seasons of House of Cards and finishing it in like one day and then having to wait another year. It’s not just Netflix though. Websites like Hulu are picking up shows that were cancelled by the network, like The Mindy Project. I was really happy when I found out that the show would continue, but just in a new place. Hulu doesn’t release all episodes at once either – they do it by week as well. So I think it just depends on the streaming platform!

    Like

Leave a Reply

