Have illegal streaming websites killed the film industry?

It’s no secret these days that most people would rather find a dodgy low-quality stream of the latest blockbuster film online, rather than going to the cinema and paying £10 to see it in all its glory. I’m sure most of us have done it, and I certainly have. But has anyone ever stopped and thought ‘hey, I wonder if this is such a big deal, what difference does one person not paying £10 to see this in the cinema make?’ – they probably haven’t.

But the truth is that there is a huge impact on the film industry. Some legal websites, most notably the likes of ‘Netflix’ are helping prolong the industry, but let’s be honest, there’s not really anything good on there.


Piracy is not a new thing, as counterfeit DVD’s have been around for decades, but with platforms like the internet making it so much easier to watch these films, piracy now costs the UK film industry over £500 million a year, and it’s estimated that 30% of the UK population have in some way pirated content. 

web-internet-piracy-rf-gettyc

My main point then, is that not all technological convergence is good. If the UK film industry alone is losing £500 million a year, is this going to be sustainable? And with figures like these, will the next generation of want-to-be filmmakers bother trying to get into an industry that may be killed off by the web?
Bear that in mind next time you think your £10 won’t be missed at the Vue in Harrow. 1820fa38875ea4ded4218f6aab05e76567d82fae3628ad2427429839c6fc7641

1 Comment

  1. Call me old fashioned but I still love going to the cinema and pay £10 to see a movie.
    I get what you’re saying about the film industry. I was actually wondering recently if it will be killed off soon. Will people still go to the cinema? Will future generations want to be movie directors? I wanted to, but my teacher told me not to do this because it’s an industry that will slowly die. I didn’t actually get it at first but I see it now.
    Though, on the other hand, there still are people who enjoy going to the cinema, like me, but unfortunately not many.
    So yes, technological convergence also comes with bad points not only positive development.

    Like

Leave a Reply

