Is this the end of Oyster cards?

APPLE_PAY_POSTER[2]I have only recently found out, when I purchased my newest version of the iPhone, that there is an option on there called “Apple Pay”. I was wondering what it could be, and soon realised it can replace my bank card and allows me to pay directly from it, just by touching my iPhone 6S to another device that supports it. A network was created in which we are able to use our mobile phone to use it for purposes that were originally done by physical objects. I do believe this is a good example of digital convergence as we are now replacing the old technology (credit cards, oyster cards) and combining it with our newest technology: the Smartphone. We rely on our smartphones for everything now and it is replacing everything we once used, for example, calendars, alarm clocks, notepads and many other features.

I was surprised when I found out that we can use our Apple Watch or iPhone 6s to use contactless payment on the Tube, DLR, Overground and all other transportation methods in London. It works as the same way as an oyster/rail card in which people can touch in and out of the checking gates. This is a very interesting form of convergence of combining the old with the new and makes me wonder where we will go from this. Will it advance even further, and will this be the end of Oyster Cards? oyster

2 Comments

  1. I myself use this new feature and find it extremely convenient.
    Although I am certain that it also has it downsides.
    Apart from the fact that it sometimes does not recognise your fingerprint and increases the waiting time for people in the queue, there is security and privacy issues arising respectively.
    The Independent discusses this issue in an article which is worth reading!
    It argues as to how the collection of data can be used to track our shopping habits to create user profiles which would be beneficial to the advertising industry.
    http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/gadgets-and-tech/features/apple-pay-boon-or-security-nightmare-10386653.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

