Can you see me?

About 5/6 years ago I went through a phase of posting on social media a lot, however nowadays I only very rarely post on any social sites. Why is this? Its a mix of being too lazy and privacy. People’s oversharing on social media has gotten out of hand , so I have felt no need to share my personal life online. Also my last name Jones is one of the most common last names in the UK, even with my less popular first name I can be quite difficult to find online. facebook_dating_sharing_status

The most visible place I can be found on the internet is Facebook. I’ve had Facebook since 2009 and now my account is full of cringey photos and statuses, that honestly make no sense. In an attempt to shield the world from my hideous photos I have made a number of albums private. The ‘public’ can only see my profile picture, cover photo, where I am from and that I’m at the University at Westminster- so people who know me, would be able to recognise me from this basic information. But my friends can see more info, such as my birthday, schools, statuses and photos, as I have confirmed that I know them. It’s reasonably easily to control personal information on Facebook due to their clear privacy settings.post-37278-ron-swanson-throws-out-compute-mg6r

Similar to my Facebook situation, my You Tube channel is 7 years old and has many awful videos, which are all now private (apart from my videos from the last 4 years). This is easy to do as You Tube also has clear privacy settings.

My Twitter, Tumblr and Instagram have limited amounts of ‘personal’ information- mostly consisting of my name, pictures and things I have been doing, watching and enjoying. I allowed these accounts to be public because the information I share on these sites aren’t too personal, as the main feature of these sites to to connect with people you wouldn’t usually meet.

1 Comment

  1. In 2013, the movie ‘Now You See Me’ was released. The reason I am mentioning it is because I will pick up one of its general concepts as the basis of my argument.

    ‘The closer you get, the less you will actually see.’

    This is what cocky illusionist Daniel Atlas says to federal agent Dylan Rhodes regarding his accusations of theft. Point is, the closer he tried to ‘dig into’ his business, the less of the real picture he would actually see.

    Is it not the same with our data online?

    The more detailed information one tries to get hold of, the more one will encounter the uncomfortable obstacles of our customized privacy settings. Of course, for more resourceful and proficient ‘seekers,’ there are ways around it, as governments, companies and security services have proved on many occasions.

    My colleague has managed to discuss a very peculiar characteristic of online privacy. One that is regularly left unconsidered, yet the outcomes of which are labelled disastrous and harmful.

    Privacy is an act of conscious and repetitive selection. However, an act that is somewhat overlooked.

    When can you see me? How much can you see me? As detailed as I have allowed.

    The user can modify for whom, on what occasions and on which platforms his information will appear and for what purposes. Everyone else left outside this circle is left with only the ‘basic information’ to rely on (see ‘Can you see me?’).

    In the light of what has been said then, where do all of these accusations of privacy breaches ‘pop up’ from? Is it not our fault entirely? Or, maybe, somebody has taken a much wider look.

    ‘Can you see me?’ is and has always been ‘Now You See Me.’

    Just from a different angle and with a different scope.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

