6 Seconds of fame

As a sociable person I have always tried to keep up to date with the newest social platforms, websites, and apps, I think at one point I also had a Bebo and a MySpace account.

The information available on me publicly online is mainly two accounts which are my Facebook, and LinkedIn which act like my first impressions for people, – where Facebook is my social first impression, and LinkedIn is my professional first impression-  all my accounts on other platforms such as Xbox, Instagram, Twitter have nicknames or usernames that aren’t really direct to my name,  since they are quite personal and not for the public to see anyway. Vine however is where it got out of hand.

So when Vine (six second video on a loop) came out, I decided to give it a shot and use the trending hashtags in order to gain followers and likes and share it with the world, what I failed to realize however is that there was a Facebook page which was saving the videos and posting them on it’s page, and that page ladies and gentlemen was ArabVines which has about 400,000 followers, yeah exactly.

giphy (1)

The problem wasn’t that they have posted one or two vines of me on Facebook, but three ladies and gents, and this also goes further when I decided to search my Vine username on YouTube and found a few Vines on there too, so the information on me Abdullah AlSaad online is limited to friends and family, however my six second videos under a username (which I sadly won’t be sharing with you guys) are there for the world, and they are there to stay.

giphy (2)

5 Comments

  1. You made it sound so funny but it is actually really sad how someone can use your videos and make them public on the Internet without your permission or even more terrifying, use the vines after you took it down from the Internet. But on the other hand, as a young person, you do not always think of privacy when you join a social media platform, not everyone is aware of what can happen if you don’t protect yourself online.
    Personally, I did not try making vines and I am glad I took that decision back then!

    Like

  2. This post is is amusingly sad in a way – we’ve all heard of ‘viners’ making big money through these six second videos, and their success must’ve been produced by similar chain reactions of their posts being spread. I find it scary that even after the owner deletes the post or their account, the most viral vines remain online somewhere and a part of internet culture, unlike personal information which you might be able to get removed. I read this article recently about the infamous “back at it again at Krispy Kreme” vine: http://nymag.com/following/2016/01/story-of.html , in which the OP discusses having deleted it to avoid legal action against him but it obviously stayed alive online.

    Like

  3. I had a similar problem with making my vine account public. I decided it would be a good idea to make an account and post silly videos because no one would ever see them. Little did I know, that vine saves screenshots from the actual videos and posts them on third party websites such as twicsy.com without my permission, so whenever my name is typed into google, those screenshots can be seen. This is the main problem with having information about ourselves online that we would not necessarily want others to see. Anyone could take it and post it on other websites against our will and there is literally nothing we can do. Moral of the story is that we have to think about online privacy and safety before we post. P.S. Please don’t google my name to find those screenshots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

