Me and my visibility

Admittedly, if you search me under the correct nickname, you’ll find a lot about me on the internet. I was smart enough to make several nicknames from the start (this was probably influenced by my parents decision that I could not have a Facebook account in secondary due to privacy fears… so I created an alter ego).

Being very young, I had written a book that I am very glad people do not know how to find (it has cringe factor written all over it)  I have the usual social media apps like Facebook , twitter  and Instagram  and also of course, WordPress but for my own other purposes beside writing this module.

I share most of my information  with my friends but I don’t really have my family in that connection apart from a few cousins on Facebook. I prefer to talk face to face with my family and close ones (also, it’s better to avoid embarrassment when you post silly pictures).

I control everything I do on social media and avoid posting anything that could affect my future as a journalist. I learnt that you are taken more seriously with a professional  platform on all levels. You cold however create a professional  persona online but think of how many passwords you would need to remember!

As a member of a university campus that focuses on the arts, I feel it is important to own at least two forms of social media because they can lead to connections with industry professionals (think Linked-In and twitter). The downsides to owning so much online is that anybody can find you easily and use information you don’t want them knowing. For example, you can now access your medical records online that displays your whole history from the start. People can also find out your family members just through searching your surname and viewing images of you with them.

As long as we protect our data online, nothing terrible should happen but its a case of us making the first move and deciding what we post in the first place.

8 Comments

  1. This is a great post Melina! I agree with your point that as journalists we should be careful with what we post online, but I also think everybody should be. I also like the point you made about using social networks such as LinkedIn, these professional sites are very useful for our futures and we should use them to their full potential!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that you brought up ‘nicknames’. It is certainly the best way to protect your privacy. Many employers “google” their future employees, for example if you go to an interview, they will certainly look for extra information about you, this is why using nicknames is brilliant because in this way they can not find any information that would endanger your professional image. No one is that stiff to act ‘professional’ all the time.

    Like

  3. I agree with what you have said about maintaining a professional image on the internet as a journalist, it’s the case for public relation students too, however I think that it’s somewhat unfair that we have to limit ourselves or filter what we post and publish for friends to see, being afraid of what a potential future employer might see or think about us after seeing those post. Good post though!

    Like

  4. I think it is important to keep yourself visible online because potential employers will be able to see it and you can network yourself and make connections. This means it is important to make sure that you stay professional at all times. Good post!

    Like

  5. I agree with your point of view about controlling the content that you post for a safer future, especially in your career. I have always been a person who thinks two times before posting anything, especially if I have contacts that maybe from work or school.

    Like

  6. I totally agree! I definitely think that as future journalists, it’s important to maintain a certain level of professional online visibility. Especially with the new digital age of journalism, our lives as journalists will be based online and consist primarily of digital media. However, we must maintain that professional representation of ourselves. Sure we’re not professional all the time but that doesn’t mean we need to make that part of ourselves widely available for any internet user to see!

    Like

Leave a Reply

